Filner says he’ll fight harassment allegations

Filner says he’ll fight harassment allegations

fox5sandiego.com

Mayor Bob FilnerSAN DIEGO — San Diego Mayor Bob Filner released a statement Monday stating his intention to stay in office and fight allegations that he has sexually harassed women.

In a statement announcing the appointment of a new chief operation officer for the city, Filner wrote:

“I’m not going to resign, and here’s why.  As your elected mayor, I fully expect to be accountable to the citizens of San Diego for all of my actions.  But as a citizen of this country, I also expect – and am entitled to – due process, and the opportunity to respond in a fair and impartial venue to specific allegations.  I do not believe I am guilty of sexual harassment, and I believe a full presentation of the facts will vindicate me.”

Acknowledging the growing chorus of voices calling for him to step down, Filner said the some have said that city operations will…

View original post 173 more words

Comments are closed.