Mayor acknowledges sexual harassment, but refuses to resign

Mayor acknowledges sexual harassment, but refuses to resign

fox5sandiego.com

[trib_ndn vid=24942330]SAN DIEGO — Mayor Bob Filner released an apologetic statement Thursday in response to allegations that he sexually harassed a number of women, but he refused to resign from office.
His statement follows:

bob-filnerI begin today by apologizing to you. I have diminished the office to which you elected me.

The charges made at today’s news conference are serious. When a friend like Donna Frye is compelled to call for my resignation, I’m clearly doing something wrong. I have reached into my heart and soul and realized I must and will change my behavior.

As someone who has spent a lifetime fighting for equality for all people, I am embarrassed to admit that I have failed to fully respect the women who work for me and with me, and that at times I have intimidated them.

It’s a good thing that behavior that would have been tolerated in the…

View original post 202 more words

Comments are closed.